Osian’s-Cinefan presented  the Aruna Vasudev Lifetime Achievement Award 2008 to Jose ‘Pete’ F Lacaba for Distinguished Contribution to Cinema and Indian filmmaker Mrinal Sen with the Osian’s Lifetime Achievement Award 2008 at the glittering opening ceremony of the fest

New Delhi, 11th  July 2008:


Mrinal Sen is one of India’s most acclaimed filmmakers and a pioneer of the alternative cinema movement. In a prolific career spanning almost five decades, Sen has directed feature films, short films and  documentaries of varying content and cine-aesthetics, his works being permeated by his engagement with social issues and his acute political awareness, always exhibiting a deep analytical mind and humanist ideology. His landmark film, Bhuvan Shome, is widely recognised as the work that launched the ‘New Wave’ in Indian cinema. Recipient of the Padma Bhushan, and the Dadasaheb Phalke Award, the highest distinction given to an Indian filmmaker by the Government of India, the French government has decorated him with the Commander of the Order of Arts and Letters, the highest honour conferred by the country. The Russian government has also honoured him with the Order of Friendship.


Jose F. Lacaba (a.k.a. Pete), poet, journalist, editor, translator, and screenwriter is a leading personality of Philippines and one of the finest representatives of its arts and literature. He is a bilingual writer who writes in both English and Filipino. He is the author of six poetry collections in Filipino and a collection of journalistic reportage in English, Days of Disquiet, Nights of Rage. He is also the editor of a number of books, including The Films of ASEAN and Emmanuel Lacaba's Salvaged Poems and Salvaged Prose. He has written the screenplays of award-winning feature films that have been shown at various international film festivals, including Cannes, Venice and Toronto. His screenplay credits include Jaguar, Bayan Ko: Kapit sa Patalim, Orapronobis, Sister Stella L., Eskapo, Segurista and Rizal sa Dapitan. Pete Lacaba is also the recipient of the Centennial Honors for the Arts for his significant contributions to culture and the arts in the twentieth century.  He has served as president of the Screenwriters Guild of the Philippines, member of the board of the Film Academy of the Philippines, and vice-chair of the Movie and Television Review and Classification Board (MTRCB).





BackHOMENext Page

Editor: Manohar Khushalani

Copyright © 2008 stagebuzz.info
Site designed & maintained by Dipesh Khushalani